GloPoWriMo: Day XXVII: George

It was fire and smoke
When it first fell upon my tongue
I masked the taste with agents
Designed to sweeten or dull

But in time I came to grow
And with it grew my thirst
My hankering for the amber
Golden nectar slowly nursed

That beautiful smoky liquid
That wonderful sweet refrain
Burning so good down my throat
As it fills me up again

Too warm and it would be a harsh friend
Too cooled and it’d lose its essence
Not so fast as to lose its depth
Or slow as to be lost in evanescence

Intoxicating, exuberating
That smell, that bittersweet flavour
If I had a peg with me right now
I’d sit back at ease and savour

2 thoughts on “GloPoWriMo: Day XXVII: George

Leave a Reply

