GloPoWriMo: Day XI: How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria?

A challenging and interesting prompt from NaPoWriMo today – to write a ‘Bop’.

While I’ve heard of Bops I’ve never actually experienced one, so I may be way off with this (particulary its written to a rhythm heard only in my head)… but here goes nothing…

Her crazy eyes and crazier demeanor
Hide a funny, querky, simple girl
She dances like there’s no one ever watching
Though secretly she’s scared of the world
You wont keep up if you ever tried to
But if you’re brave go give it a whirl

Oh how do you solve a problem like Maria
That girl is as wild as they come
How do you solve a problem like Maria
As free as the ever setting sun

Now here’s the real problem with Maria
She’s ever so present and kind
The very real problem with Maria
Is that I really really want to make her mine
A simple fool of 20 and a few years
I never ever did think I had a shot
To find a girl as wonderful and daring
But if she’s the net then I am surely caught

Oh how do you solve a problem like Maria
That girl is as wild as they come
How do you solve a problem like Maria
As free as the ever setting sun

Now if you’re actually interested in this story
I’ll tell you the most surprising part
This simple, querky, funny girl Maria
Seems she also liked me from the start
So maybe I should give up solving problems
And for once just listen to my heart

Oh, you dont solve a problem like Maria
That girl who is as wild as they come
I think I like this problem called Maria
Beautiful as the setting sun

2 thoughts on “GloPoWriMo: Day XI: How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria?

Leave a Reply

