GloPoWriMo: Day X: A Portrait From Memory

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt is to write a portrait… Now there’s an interesting concept… Question is, whose portrait will it be? Will he or she or they recognise themselves? Will I?

(P.S. Apologies/thanks to NaPoWriMo and Theodore Roethke for quite blatantly ripping off… errr I mean, “being inspired” for today’s poem’s title…)

I knew a girl
Her hair was hazel in the sun
She hid her face
Behind glass and insecurity
But she was beautiful
Even more so because she refused to accept that she was

I knew a girl
Her eyes like two sapphires
Not in colour
But in spirit and vibrancy
For when they looked upon me
I almost felt my self to be something precious

I knew a girl
Her smile like a spring breeze
Breathing life and love
Into a heavy heart
Opening it to forgotten joys
Making it light, even if not forever so

I knew a girl
Of pure alabaster
Her perfect skin
Made more perfect by her scars
Which made her strong
Stronger than she could realise or I could explain

I knew a girl

Now I know a portrait left behind

One thought on “GloPoWriMo: Day X: A Portrait From Memory

Leave a Reply

