GloPoWriMo2017: Day IV: Google (Revisited)

(Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt…Well, it’s a bit of a sad one. Writing an elegy – a poem that mourns or honors someone dead or something gone by – could rarely be a purely happy experience. Perhaps bittersweet at best. But in following this prompt I hope I’ll find something sweet or funny or just down right dumb to say about a friend who was all those things and more, and who I lost some time ago now.)

You were the most adorable thing
I had ever seen when we met
You insisted on sleeping next to me
Or on me sometimes, in bed

You grew up like any human
With your angry angsty phase
But then mellowed out severely
In your grown old man days

We grew close and then apart
And in the end it seems all love was lost
That was my fault, I left
And then you lost the plot

You were a bully, an attention whore
A friend who always stole my seat
And god I hated your guts
When you pissed on my bag or sheets

Waking me in the middle of the night
Staring at me with those wide eyes
Trying, hilariously, to fit
In a box that was half your size

Garfeldian, Nirmalian
You were so many things in your time
I’ll always be your friend Googie
And you’ll always be mine

(Old readers may remember and note some throwbacks here to a poem I wrote for NaPoWriMo 2014 – “Google“)

Leave a Reply

