A Four Letter Word – Day XVII – NaPoWriMo 2014

What have I learnt
From stories of love, seen or heard?
I have learnt only this
That I have learnt nothing
Nor should I have

I have watched every comedy play out
Every tragedy fade away
Every grief or hilarious happenstance
And they are all familiar
Yet completely alien

In truth I will never have
A “meet cute” or “double take”
I will never find myself
In a game of mistaken identity
Nor be a cirano

For love, real love
Is formless and unpredictable
It is undefinable and indistinguishable
From the rest of life
Or so it seems

Or maybe this too
Is a lesson learnt
Where it should not have
Maybe love does not exist
Maybe it never did

If life is nothing
But a search for the answer
To this unasked question
Is the winner he who answers?
Or he who needs not to?

Leave a Reply

