Google – Day XIV – NaPoWriMo 2014

A friend known
For most his life
There in times
Of happiness and strife
With many natures
Bundled in one
Sitting pretty
In a ray of sun

You sleep all day
And spread all round
Waking me each morning
To your nagging sounds
A creature of sloth
And whim it’s true
Doing whatever
You want to

And though I may ponder
What lies in your mind
If ever the answer
I did find
I’m sure I’d see
That you care not
Of the why, the where
The how, when and what

How simple it must be
To be such a creature
No worries or cares
No pupils or teachers
Independent yet bound
By will or by fate
Not truly ever showing love
Nor ever hate

Just lie there my friend
And be content
For that is the purpose
For which you are meant
You are my companion
When you choose to be
And in those moments I do see

You are who you are
You will never alter
You will never doubt
Or hurdle or falter
And though you be limited
By life’s design
I am your friend
As you are mine

Leave a Reply

