My Top 10 Song Parodies

Everyone loves a good parody. Whether they’re just fooling around, having a laugh at the expense of the original artist or making an entire career out of it, the work of parodists is often appreciated, though many of them will never really claim the same fame as the songs they parody. Here’s a list of some of my favorite parody songs. I’ve tried to give links to official channels where I can (don’t want to infringe any making available rights here!). Where there’s no link I’m afraid you’ll have to search for yourself.

10. Bohemian Rhapsody (The Muppets) – Coming in at number 10 is the interesting spoof of Queen’s masterpiece by the ever-lovable Muppets. Its fun to watch and definitely makes some interesting creative choices.

9. White and Nerdy (Weird Al Yankovic) – The king of parodies. This man has made a massive career out of making fun of other people’s hits, to the point where it’s practically considered a badge of honor to have him parody one of your songs. It’s no wonder he’s makes the list with three different entries.

8. The Star Wars that I Used to Know (Teddie Films) – The Key of Awesome does some awesome work. Along with their brilliant parodies they also some cool original songs. This one is particularly hard to watch with a straight face. Han shot first!

7. Amish Paradise (Weird Al Yankovic) – Seriously this man has some serious talent. I don’t know how he pulls this stuff off.

6. Galactic Empire State of Mind (College Humor) – It seems Alicia Keys and Jay-Z’s release spurred quite a few parodies. This is one of two that have made my list. And its the second of three Star Wars parodies. Yes I may have some bias towards them.

5. Somebody that I Used to know (Key of Awesome) – One of Key of Awesome’s best ones for sure, I laugh out loud every time I watch it.

4. The Saga Begins (Weird Al Yankovic) – Though not the most hilarious of Al’s works, this definitely has one of the best videos. And yes, more Star Wars!

3. Look at This Instagram – (College Humor) – Though the most recently watched of any of the songs on this list, this is one of my favorites. It’s probably more popular than the Nickelback song it’s based on.

2. Newport State of Mind (M-J Delaney) – The second of the Empire State of Mind parodies. It is majorly hilarious. It went viral in 2010 but was taken off YouTube after EMI put forward a copyright claim. There are still some versions up on the site I think, but I wasn’t able to source a licensed version so no link I’m afraid: (

1. I Gotta Feeling (College Humor) – Coming in at number 1 is College Humor’s parody of the Black Eyed Peas smash hit “I Gotta Feeling”. Its well shot and pretty funny. Reminds me of some of the parties I’ve thrown/attended in the past ; p

One thought on “My Top 10 Song Parodies

Leave a Reply

