Kiss Me, Stupid!

According to page 6 of today’s evening standard, a survey of Cineworld Unlimited customers revealed that the spagetti-eating scene from Disney’s classic “Lady and the Tramp” is Britain’s favorite screen kiss. This is rather surprising, while at the same time it isn’t (yes that sentence did actually make sense in my head!). The people surveyed are obviously adults, who probably watched this movie decades ago, but may have re-watched it since in bouts of nostalgia. So it seems as this particular demographic grew older, they started cherishing their old “awwww” moments over the, what seems like, mass produced market of rom-coms (Romantic Comedies). When I think about it, thats actually cute. I myself can remember watching childhood favorites, snuggled up with that special someone – well to be clear it was more me forcing them to watch movies which I held as staples of my childhood in an attempt to educate them to the fact that I WILL NEVER GROW UP! ;-p

The movie itself came out in 1955, which just sounds absurd right? I mean I’m sure so many of us watched it as kids, I know I did. So to think that it was such a popular staple of childhood cinema that someone from my generation watched it growing up, say somewhere between 1995-1999, 40 years after its release, is truly baffling, and at the same time heart-warming. But to tell you the truth, I find it hard to imagine that the same hold today. Children’s movies these days – like Finding Nemo, Kung-Fu Panda, Cars – are far more action-packed and fast paced. Are kids today still watching Lady and the Tramp, Ferngully, Dumbo or 101 Dalmatians? I’m going to guess no. Which is sad, because some of those original Disney flics are classics. That’s not to say that the new ones are great. How does the saying go? “Never forget where you come from”

Hmmmm… I find that I went way-off course as I wrote this entry. The original idea was to do a Top 10 Movie Kisses of my own, but I guess I got lost in the wonderful world of older days, when movies always had happy endings and gave you that fuzzy feeling inside. Well I suppose I’ll hold off on that one till tomorrow – Do it as a “V Day” post. Come back if you’re interested.

YBGMWCRF2KWG (This code included for purposes of verifying ownership of this site my the author for purposes of Technorati)

One thought on “Kiss Me, Stupid!

Leave a Reply

