Giving Thanks

I’ve only celebrated Thanksgiving once before in my life – In my second year of college when a few American friends from the foreign exchange program decided to throw a small dinner. There were lights and a nice home cooked meal (Chicken I believe since a full Turkey is harder to come by in India). But it paled in comparison to the feast for the senses and the palate that I was treated to yesterday.

Our beautiful and wonderful host – Leslie – prepared a lavish meal with all the trimmings. We started off with some home-made Salsa and chips as well an amazing BLT dip – an invention of our host herself. We had Turkey with stuffing and Cranberry sauce, accompanied by some delicious Mac and Cheese, Courgettes and Peas and creamy Mashed Potatoes. And it was no surprise to me that I was the first to go for seconds. And I’d be remiss if I missed dessert – a warm and mouth-watering Apple Pie with Vanilla Ice Cream – first time in my life I have event liked Apple Pie, mostly because she didn’t use Cinnamon, which I’m not a big fan of (She said it was because she specifically remembered that I don’t like Cinnamon – I’ll go ahead and give her the benefit of the doubt ; p)

Though the food was nothing to be scoffed at, it was not the highlight of the evening for me. The best part I would have to say was the wonderful atmosphere, the beautiful setting and candle light, and the genuine exuberance of all gathered. We sat and talked, went around the table saying what we were thankful for – each trying to out do the last in lavishing praise upon our host : ). And at some point, and this is genuinely my favorite part of an evening in with friends, we regressed to our teen years – blasting cheesy music from the 80s and 90s and singing along emphatically. Not to mention a saucy game of Truth or Dare (the video recordings of which I believe everyone hopes will never surface).

Amidst the romping good time we all had, I couldn’t help but pause to think about how things have changed over the last year. This time last November I was incredibly stressed out – drowning in a sea of applications, writing Statements of Purpose, running after Professors for Recommendations, while at the same time trying to figure out where to get a job and figuring out a five-year plan. It’s amazing how far things have come, and just how much my world has changed, and yet stayed the same. So I really do have a lot to be thankful for – I got into a great institution where I am pursuing study in areas of Law that I am genuinely interested in, I have made wonderful friends who I see building lasting relationships with, I live in a city full of diversity and culture, and with exams still months away I have time to enjoy all the above : )

Leave a Reply

