Reach Out

What is it about the night? 

That makes us long so 

For things the day did not give us 

For hopes dashed, promises unfulfilled

What is it about the moon’s last shadow?

As it falls upon the eye for the last time

That makes us long            

For things that lie beyond our grasp

  

As I lie in my bed

The stars blinking above

I reach out one last time

My fingers running swiftly from key to key

Forming the words before I can even think of them

Till there it lies before me

A message, a plea, a bid for redemption

 

In that moment a hundred thoughts fly through my head

Shall I send forth my creation?

Will it warrant reciprocated emotion?

Or will it bring only more pain?

And as I think I drift into slumber

Awaiting a response

That shall never come

Leave a Reply

