8 Shows That Ended Too Soon

Isn’t it just the most frustrating thing in the world to watch a TV show, follow it, become invested in the storyline, start to like/identify with the characters, only to have it cancelled before it can play out its time and leave you with some feeling of closure?! Time and again I have had my heart-broken to find out that a show that I totally got hooked on just wasn’t going to get another season. And I know studios have their reasons – low ratings, strong competition, budgets – blah! blah! blah! Sometimes I wish I was Peter from the episode of Family Guy where he steals like a 100 “Neilson boxes” so he can influence the ratings and get whatever he wants on the air!

Here’s my list of shows that I wish the studios had a little more faith in or where the creators had fought just a little bit harder to keep in on the air or where airheads who get shows like “The Jersey Shore” to go on for 6 seasons  (Yeah 6! How is that possible!!!) would have watched something with a plot instead of sitting on the couch literally getter dumber:

  1. Firefly: On the top of my, and I am sure thousands of others’, list of shows that needed to go on is the Futuristic Western Firefly. This show had an amazing cast, was immensely imaginative and to this day, despite only airing 14 episodes has a huge following that has made the thing of geek legend. Studios even attempted to give fans closure by making a movie – “Serenity” – which was pretty good, but had nothing on the show! Side Note: I watched the movie years before I knew about the TV show – have to thank my good friend Akshay for getting me onto it.
  2. Flame of Recca: Psychic weapons, Ninjas and Fire Dragons – what’s not to like! Though not strictly cancelled, the Flame of Recca definitely ended too soon. There were dozens of holes in the story that needed to be plugged and the show could have easily pulled off another season! Side Note – Also has a great opening theme (don’t understand a single word of it though). Plus, hands down my favorite Anime of all time.
  3. The Adventures of Brisco County Jr: Okay if I tried to describe the plot of this show to you, you’d probably say “Of course it got cancelled”. But despite how silly the overall storyline sort of was, the show itself was awesome! Set back in the ol’ west but with constant references to contemporary culture and jokes that sort of take the piss of themselves. And of course the brilliant Bruce Campbell as the star. Side Note: How many of you realized that the king of B-Horror Movies was also the hilarious Autolycus from Xena: Warrior Princess?
  4. My Name is Earl: I loved this show! It was awesome. So many funny stars and interesting characters. How could they cancel it?! Side Note: Practically everyone form the show is on the new hit Raising Hope – and they make quite a few allusions to My Name is Earl
  5. John Doe: An interesting show about a man who knows everything, except who he is and where he comes from. I really liked the lead actor, Dominic Purcell, and was so super disappointed  when the show didn’t get picked up for another season, especially after the first one ended on such an unbelievably shocking moment of betrayal! Side Note: Episode 14 was one of the rare instances in my adult life where a TV show has actually made me well up.
  6. Now and Again: A fat John Goodman, down on his luck dies in a tragic accident and has his brain transplanted into a genetically enhanced super-human. Sounds ridiculous I know but the show was awesome and Dennis Haysbert, famous for playing the Black President on 24, was pretty good on the show. Side Note – Really catchy opening theme.
  7. Arrested Development: Hands down one of the funniest shows in recent history – great writing, brilliant cast – so why did it only run for 3 seasons! I mean come on, Family Guy is now on Season 11 and that’s only ONE of Seth McFarlane’s shows. Rumours have been around for the last two years that there will be a movie – though I haven’t heard of any recent developments. Side Note: Jason Bateman is simply superb at his uncomfortable cynical form of humor, but in my opinion he’s so much better on TV than on the big screen.

And the last one… No. 8 – Community – Yes, I know the new season just started, but it really feels like its going to be the last one. Lets face it, without Dan Harmon will this show really be able to live up to the reputation that they’ve built for themselves? There were rumors that Chevy Chase was off the show, but it seems he’s staying on, for this latest season at least – What is up with his character though? Last season he became like a less funny, more sad, really old version of Charlie Sheen. Sigh. I used to love this guy – from Update to Fletch. What happened to you Chevy?

3 thoughts on “8 Shows That Ended Too Soon

  1. Nice list!
    Did I give you Brisco County? I ask because almost no one I know has come across that show and I love it to death! :)
    Also, the new season of Community is trying, I’ll give them that… but it’s not quite the same without Dan – maybe they’ll find their stride but I’ll reserve judgement. Oh and Chase is actually gone, he walked out before they finished filming the season but enough that they were able to complete the season with little hassle. It’s one of the best shows in forever and Chase was a douche-bag par excellence for his behaviour, sadly I think with this being the final year of college + possibility this season wont be as good means this might well be the final season… I just hope they don’t jump the shark and try to make it “cooler”… :P
    You can’t stop the signal!!

    • Yeah man you were the one that gave me Brisco. And thank you. Many hours of entertaining TV that. As for Community, I really think this is it for them. I think they just need to pick a nice plot line and make sure not to leave any holes – like the whole Jeff and Annie thing – they still don’t seem to have given up on that. Its a real shame. I’m never going to be able to see Pudi as anything but Abed so even seeing him on a new show is gonna be hard : (

Leave a Reply

