Filling In The Map!

When looking to expand your blogging profile WordPress definitely does provide a lot of help along the way. They offer simple tutorials to help new bloggers reach out and get their message across with suggestions and tips. Once you get past the set up stage and learn the quick ins and outs though, its really up to you to find a voice for yourself and get your name and posts out there. I’m not going to start giving you suggestions of my own – I don’t think I’m really in a position. I’ve only been blogging seriously since late last year, thanks to the impetus I got from Kim Duller and the LUIP team. Before that I had a blog on Posterous.com, which I used mainly just for pieces of self-composed prose or poetry. Since starting the program however I’ve started making a greater effort to write regularly and I’m even using the services of Tumblr to try and develop some sort of following for my amateur photography. The truth is I don’t know if I’m doing well or not. I’m not sure how to judge the progress I’ve made.

One thing that helps however is the Site Stats feature offered by the service hosting this blog. Its really quite interesting to scroll through the summaries they provide and see what people visiting your blog look for, what brings them there, and then try to use that information to better market yourself. I truly recommend that if you’re running your own blog on WordPress you check these stats out. They give you a good idea of your personal progress over time.

My personal favorite is the Map stat which shows you where visitors checking out your blog are logging in from. So far I’ve gotten visitors from places I would have never imagined. But then I suppose that’s one of the great things about the internet – people from all around the world can come together and share information like never before. 15 years ago I couldn’t have imagined sharing my words with people from Croatia or Jamaica! Now I’m just waiting for the day I manage to fill in the entire map – So if there is anyone out there from South America or one of the many countries in Africa or South East Asia, I welcome your patronage and thanks for helping me color in my map : D

Screen Shot 2013-02-26 at 12.14.04 AM

2 thoughts on “Filling In The Map!

Leave a Reply

