Adventures in House Sitting: Part II: Geek’s Night Out

I spent most of yesterday out of the house – in fact I never actually made it home, but we’ll get to that. Thursdays are generally gruelling – I have two back-to-back lectures – that’s 4 straight hours of class. So I usually count on my cappuccino from Costa to get me through it.

Yesterday was actually a lot better than most weeks. My International Comparative Copyright class was being taken by Jonathan Griffiths, who is also my dissertation supervisor, and we were covering Moral Rights, which I personally find really interesting. It’s also a core part of my dissertation so it was good to hash out a few interesting questions in class. My second lecture was for Cyberspace Law, where we were covering Data Protection and Privacy. Now to the lay man that mind sound pretty boring, but man would you be wrong. It’s actually a very interesting topic and something the average person should definitely know more about. Do you know what to do of Facebook sells the information you upload to marketing companies so they can target advertise? Do you know if they’re actually legally permitted to do something like that? What about the fact that the ads on he right side of Facebook or your Gmail account seem to know exactly what your interests are? Do you know how that works, or did you just think it was a coincidence? Well it’s questions like this that we’re dealing with. If you’re interested read up, you might be shocked. And check it out this video, you might never use your Gmail again! Google’s Master Plan

After lectures a bunch of us trekked across to Embankment to attend a Reception and tour of The National Liberals Club (more on that in another post). After, I ended up having a pint with some people around the corner, this is where the night of Geeking officially began! My friend Jose and I basically spent most of our time over drinks talking about video games, movies, comic books, the media and probably half a dozen other things. Quick highlights (so that I don’t lose you like we lost the other people we were with last night!)

  • Tarantino – I said Pulp Fiction is overrated, he said that you should look at it in its time, for which it was groundbreaking, but agreed that its not Tarantino’s best – we both agree that most of the people who say they love it, love it for the wrong reasons
  • Braveheart – He said it was overrated, I said he must be outside his mind. Also Mel Gibson’s movies were better before he went insane.
  • Die Hard – My preference order 1,3,2,4. His 1,3,4,2
  • GL vs Superman – I’ve been having this particular debate with dozens of people over the last week. I still say GL – he seemed a bit on the fence

When we finally got back to his place (around 1) the night was far from winding down, what followed was hours of more Geek talk, a few quick Poker tournis and then some more card based games, but the dueling and fantasy kind. Warhammer Invasion in particular was a lot fun, and I’m told that I actually drew a rather strong class, but a lack of luck in drawing some of the better cards got me thrashed.

After a morning (or rather early afternoon) of more geeking – this time talking Graphic novels, Sandman in particular (one of my favs!) and some fun Lego riddles (which you can find on Gizmodo) I’ve finally made my way back to the couch at Leslie’s – question is what now – study or veg? Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

